Bitumen Standards

Having commonly agreed European standards helps everyone involved in the bitumen industry. These standards help specifiers to select the best bituminous binder for each application or end use. They eliminate commercial and technical barriers to trade between EU member states and provide a set of common reference tools for the market, both within the EU and outside. And they make it easier to communicate technical and safety data both at a European and a local level.

Product Standards Review Update

The CEN revision process of the paving grade bitumens standard (EN 12591) started in January 2015 and the CEN Formal Vote procedure was completed in 2017. For formal reasons, revised EN 12591 will not be published, and the version 2009 stays in force.

The polymer modified bitumen standard (EN 14023) CEN Enquiry will start in March 2020.

Construction Products Regulation

The requirements of the European Union’s Construction Products Regulation (CPR), which covers bitumen, came into force on 1 July 2013. The CPR supersedes the Construction Products Directive (CPD).

To help members prepare for implementation of the CPR, Eurobitume established a Task Force to develop guidance on the differences between CPD and CPR, and on the necessary actions from CPR. The document “The Implementation of CPR for Bituminous Binders for Paving” highlights the changes for manufacturers, in particular regarding the new Declaration of Performance (DoP) and the requirements for CE marking. This document is available exclusively to Eurobitume members.


We will keep you informed about the latest news.

Become a member!

Join our network.

Performance Related Specifications

These specifications describe the properties of bituminous binders in terms that provide an indication of the relative performance for essential product characteristics. Specifications like these can differ from those based on empirical properties.


CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation - the European Committee for Standardisation) was founded in 1975 by the national standards bodies in the European Economic Community and European Free Trade Agreement (EFTA) countries (excluding Liechtenstein, which is not a CEN member), to help ensure an open market for the exchange of goods and services across national borders by developing common specifications. Read more...